KidsSafe

About Us

All personnel of the Safety/Security Department are committed to creating and maintaining a safe environment for staff, students, and visitors.

As law enforcement safety officers, our staff serves as the liaison between St. Lucie Public Schools and the St. Lucie Sheriff’s Office, the City of Fort Pierce Police Department and the City of Port St. Lucie Police Department. We work in conjunction with these agencies to provide safety and security to staff, students, and visitors, and to protect district-owned property.

The department is comprised of nine certified law enforcement officers, a camera technician, two mail couriers, and a secretary.

Visiting a School?

  • Legally park your vehicle
  • Always check in at the main office
  • Have and present a valid source of identification

Safety

Safety/Security Department Duties and Responsibilities

The Safety/Security Department’s certified law enforcement officers provide professional security services and serve as liaisons with the school resource deputies/officers assigned to district schools. Safety Officers are committed to enhancing our security measures in order to maintain a safe and secure learning environment.
  • Respond to calls for service from schools, buses, bus stops, other district facilities.
  • Coordinate law enforcement assignments and provide security at athletic events.
  • Issue employee and contractor identification badges.
  • Provide technical assistance and on-going staff training.
  • Coordinate and assist with emergency drills at district schools and facilities.
  • Coordination and emergency planning with local law enforcement, emergency management and public safety communications.
  • Maintain the security camera systems at all schools and facilities.
  • Monitor and utilize the security camera system to identify safety concerns, and to investigate security issues and criminal incidents.
  • Provide equipment checks on emergency communications devices.
  • Provide security at meetings and at special events.
  • Close patrols and directed patrols of schools and district facilities.
  • Assist law enforcement with criminal investigations and other issues involving the school district.
  • Assist district departments and schools with safety and security issues/concerns.
  • Assists Transportation Department in maintaining safe and secure transportation for all students riding buses.
  • Develop and implement procedures to ensure a safe school environment.
  • Evaluate existing procedures, and safety and security systems to determine their effectiveness and to implement improvements when necessary.

crimestoppers

Submit a Tip to Crimestoppers Online

Staff

Brian Reuther
Chief, Safety / Security Dept.
Brian.Reuther@stlucieschools.org
429-4645

Mark Woods
Deputy Chief, Safety / Security
Mark.Woods@stlucieschools.org
429-4645

Janet Pederson
Secretary
Janet.Pederson@stlucieschools.org
429-4645

Officers

Ken Rodriguez
Kenneth.Rodriguez@stlucieschools.org

Dan Martinez
Dan.Martinez@stlucieschools.org

Taryn Doukas
Taryn.Doukas@stlucieschools.org

Juan Marrero
Juan.Marrero@stlucieschools.org

Frank Sisto
Frank.Sisto@stlucieschools.org

Edward Reed
Edward.Reed@stlucieschools.org
429-4534

Ami Gibbons
Ami.Gibbons@stlucieschools.org

Mail Couriers

Tim Barrett
Tim.Barrett@stlucieschools.org

Eric McKay
Eric.McKay@stlucieschools.org

Camera Technician

Keith Hisey
Keith.Hisey@stlucieschools.org